The percentage of overweight children in Western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is considered that there is a 20% increase in overweight children in Western society in the last decade.In this essay, I will discuss the cause of the increasing number of overweight children and possible solutions to this problem. Starting with the reasons for sprouting overweight children, firstly the use of unhealthy eating behaviours.In Western societies, children prefer to consume fast food mostly which consists of cheese, sugar and salt. However, these foods can be quickly obtained, inexpensive and easily available so consuming excessive amounts of saturated food leads to obesity and severe health issues such as respiratory problems. Secondly, not involved in physical activities in other words, children spend most of their time watching TV, playing games online and studying for example, eating cheez burger accumulates fats in children. Thus prolonged eating of fatty food impacts children's health. Furthermore, parents should be trained to engage their children in any fitness activity such as cycling, walking for an hour and specifically joining a gym so that they can control their weight and keep themselves safe and sound similarly guardians can compel their children to play different physical games with their peers in the playground. on the other hand, the government should run awareness programmes for instance, Exercise programmes shown on the television including training and usage of equipment so this training helps children to lose their weight and improve their wellbeing. Therefore precautions should be given to children while eating food. To sum up, being overweight has negative effects on children's strength and overall performance that's why children should be trained to keep themselves physically active.