In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernise, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that we should demolish old buildings and replace them with new ones to deal with a shortage of space. This essay will explain the disadvantages and the advantages of this idea and I believe the advantages can outweigh the disadvantegs. To begin with the disadvantages, a crucial disadvantage is demolishing cost. These costs include workforces, machines, fuels and waste. For example, regarding old buildings, this cost is often quite high and it can take over 10 million yen. According to an article, about one-third of city governments in Japan are suffering from a shortage of money because of the plan which proceeds to demolish old buildings. If we stop this plan, we can allocate more funds to the other essential fields, education or health care, for instance. However, there are significant advantages; to make more space and keep safe for residents. With regard to the former, we will need more space to deal with overpopulation in the future. Osaka city, which is one of the largest cities in Japan, is predicted to increase its population twice within 30 years. Therefore, we should break down old buildings and build new ones where more and more people live. As for the latter, old buildings are likely not to fulfil the rule of housing. Many old buildings built over 50 years ago cannot be enough strong to live in. If there is a big earthquake, these buildings will break down immediately and may harm citizens because of their poles or windows. Consequently, it is important to replace old buildings to keep them safe in an emergency. In conclusion, although there are clear disadvantages to knocking down old buildings, I believe that these disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages.