The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Globalization has made it possible to export a variety of eatables worldwide. It has been opined that inhabitants need to rely on farms in their area merely because it is beneficial naturally and commercially. To begin with, eating locally produced food has a plethora of advantages. To commence with, it would eliminate the cost and the pollution caused while travelling, when inhabitants have to go a few miles to purchase their stuff. Besides, the packaging and exporting of items involve an enormous money and material to cover it, which is arduous for the environment. For instance, plastic is widely used to pack products, whereas its manufacturing process emits deadly gases, and its overuse has become a matter of concern for scholars as it does not decompose own and creates air, water, and soil pollution by burning, clogging and remaining in the earth layers even for millions of years. On the other hand, the difference in the soil types is the biggest challenge for this change. Firstly, the land diversity across the northern, or southern hemisphere is a reason for the availability of various types of food. Whereas, the masses need to stick to particular ingredients to feed themselves. Secondly, the inhabitants might have to face a lack of nutrition in their diet, therefore, they could be prone to certain diseases. Lastly, in the winter season, certain parts of the world could not grow any crops because of the snowfall or worse weather conditions. For example, in Western countries, there are very few months, when farmers could plough their fields, and feed their families. Thus, it is hard to imagine they could provide food to others. To conclude, the idea of preserving the atmosphere and the economy by eliminating the hours of drive to sustain families has plenty of benefits. However, there are a few demerits as this drastic change would have a considerable impact on the lives of the people.