Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

Nowadays, there has been a significant increase in the amount of time offspring spend watching TV set compared to the past. In my opinion, this is largely due to a rise in the number of informative and entertaining channels. However, this issue can be effectively addressed by both governments and parents. The main reason for children watching more television is the way they acquire information through educational channels. At home and school, parents and instructors often show visual presentations to teach their subjects. It is often seen that children watch Ted ED or National Geographic to learn about science and planets, while they also study English grammar and vocabulary through YouTube videos. This phenomenon naturally increases their screen time. This is coupled with the availability of OTT (Over-The-Top) streaming services such as Netflix and Disney Plus. With a variety of choices, young people tend to watch animations, movies, soap operas, and game shows rather than engaging in outdoor or artistic activities. In order to solve the aforementioned problems, the government should take steps to promote physical activity and creativity among children. For example, educational institutions should include extracurricular programs that encourage outdoor play and creative projects, such as art classes or sports lessons. This is a great way to reduce the amount of time spent watching television by spending time outdoors and developing positive lifestyle habits. Furthermore, parents could reduce screen time by playing with their kids. For example, they could help their children learn English by reading fairy tales, studying the lyrics of songs, and playing crossword puzzles together. After that, they could also have picnics in the park and engage in sports such as catch ball and baseball, which help children create lasting memories and promote mental well-being. In conclusion, children are more likely to watch television because of the fun content on streaming services and changing educational methods. However, since this causes serious addiction problems, the government should introduce more extracurricular activities, while parents should spend more time with their kids doing active and creative tasks.