A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued locking criminals for a long time is a good method, and in my opinion, I agree that simply applying long-term custody to law-breakers is not a good way. There is no doubt that positive effects come with applying longer prison terms. To begin with, criminals will have an improved understanding of their crime, because they have to stay in jail for a longer time, which means that probably those people will accept more education about the law and have more time to double-think about their faults, leading to more comprehensive awareness and understanding, eventually result in reduced probability for them to break the law again. Besides, criminals are also able to be cut off from their old way of living by increasing prison terms. Since skill training is common in prison education, then those who break the law will have more chance to acquire certain skills for independent living, therefore once they are released after serving a sentence, it is more likely for them to find a proper job, resulting in an independent life without committing crimes. However, there are detrimental consequences arising from increasing sentence-serving time. Obviously, it lacks deterrent power for those people who committed heavy crimes, because those criminals are usually anti-social and do not care about the surrounding people, conventional in- prison education is effectless, and usually ignored by them. As a result, it is almost for sure that they will continue making crimes after being released. For example, in countries like Sweden, some serial killers were sent back soon again due to murder after they ended the previous custodies. Moreover, locking criminals for a long time is a waste of public resources. The government has to spend taxes on maintenance and keep the criminals alive, thus it will be a huge burden if they have to stay locked for a longer time, leading to reduced investigation on other public facilities. To conclude, there are significant drawbacks if they are in prison longer, and the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Therefore, I strongly agree with this viewpoint.