8.Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that have been scientifically proved to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this essay, I will argue why it is irrational to vote for the prohibition of selling food and beverages that have been proven harmful to people. Before assessing whether those types of food intake should be forbidden or not, one should first make a clear definition of "harmful". Anything that is eaten by people in their daily life may become "harmful" without scientific eating amount or frequency. That means all food or beverage, nutritious or unhealthy, would somehow become toxic anyway if people blindly eat them without considering the physical situations. Therefore, I would say that one can never draw a clear line between regular catering materials and the so-called "harmful" food when there are no premises set on the quantity or eating frequency. Then is the impracticality of the supposed policy: how can we solely ban the selling of certain types of food only when they are relatively more "harmful" than others, but permit others that are less harmful but would also be unhealthy under some circumstances? It is the ambiguity of the criteria towards this action that compels me to reject this notion. Apart from the lack of credibility on the judgement of "harmfulness", the given claim would also be unpersuasive because of its recklessness. This type of prohibition is practical only when its foreseeable contribution definitively outweighs the drawbacks it may provoke. Let alone how hard the act can be implemented, the possible outcome of this is clearly dark and negative; it would certainly deprive certain catering industries of the ability to survive and would make the entire society face the sadness of unemployment. Companies related to, say, snacks, alcohol or soda, would immediately witness their fate of extinction and end up with corruption, sending a throng of fired employees into the talent market, who would suddenly increase the pressures pushed on the government and human resource departments. Whereas that is still not the whole story, when lots of countries then realize that they would experience vicious slumps in their international trade, in which the old day's economic titans-coca cola, KFC, burger king, Hennessy, etc.-would never make any money for their own countries, who would also not be that abundant to purchase inside the global importing and exporting chain. In conclusion, the absurdity and calamities witnessed behind this notion make me strongly veto it. I certainly believe that feasibility and possible hazards should be meticulously tested before any prohibition of food and drinks, even if they may seemingly harm our health.