Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

These days the reason for celebrity fame lies in their money and lifestyle rather than their work and this is causing detrimental effects on our youth. I completely with the statement and this essay will explain the reasons. In this social media-dominated era, activities and lives of famous people are easily accessible to anyone, especially youngsters, which results in a desire to achieve those luxuries as well without realising the increasing cost of living. For instance, when these kids see their favourite actors or sports person using a specific brand of accessories such as a watch or sunglasses, they tend to copy them which results in a financial burden on parents. In addition, sometimes the clothes or attire these celebs carry is not acceptable for people from a particular religion. However, young people easily get influenced by celebrities from the Western world and start ignoring their religious and cultural values by adopting the same kind of immodest dressing. As a result, this damages the relationship between parents and children and creates immorality in certain conservative societies. On the contrary, these well-known people do share some motivational content regarding their career journeys but these are far less than their beautiful and extravagant materialistic things showcased on platforms such as Instagram. For example, while scrolling Instagram vast amount of content is available regarding styling videos or travel vlogs whereas there are very few ted talks for young people to take inspiration from. In conclusion, big names in society are damaging youth by setting unrealistic living standards therefore they should start behaving responsibly and encourage young people with their success stories to advance our society towards positive development.