The most important a.m. of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought that the main goal of science should be the improvement of people's lives. I tend to disagree with the given statement because of the impact on the environment and the future. This essay will elaborate on my ideas. To begin with, targeting only people's lives may cause different consequences to the environment. According to the past, it is clear that thinking of humans' comfort was the reason for air pollution, climate change along with the destruction of wildlife. For instance, due to the cold, scientists invented power plants, which is the result caused the rise in temperature. Another case is as getting around by horses and animals became impractical, which led to the creation of cars. As a,result more than half of your pollutants come from vehicles. Additionally, if scientists would focus on the people only, the wilderness where to be extinct now as chicken for example lost its origins roughly a century ago and became 10 times bigger than used to be because of genetic modifications. Moreover, as a science would not be focused, consequently effects of human actions were not to be solved and causes to the environment not to be bothering. To conclude, this essay disagrees with the mentioned statement owing to the consequences of these types of actions.