In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree ot disagree with this statement?

With the advent of the Internet and the growing online aspects of human life, the need for printed articles or textbooks is lowering. To the extent that some believe that in the future online newspapers and e-books completely replace printed media and one is free to read whatever one's wishes free of charge. Although I agree with this notion that the age of printed newspapers and books might be passed soon, I do not believe that they will be free. In this essay, I will try to reason my point of view on the matter and draw a conclusion based on them. First, the new technological advances in personal phones and the introduction of tablets have paved the path to the popularization of e-books and online newspapers. For instance, I have used my Amazon Kindle e-book reader for a couple of years to pursue my literary interests. Additionally, electronic books are generally cheaper than printed ones, therefore there is a financial advantage in buying them. For one, I have bought several fantasy books that I enjoy at a fraction of their cost for the printed version. Hence, the advantages of these newer forms of communication are evident. On the other hand, I do not believe that they are going to be free. Online libraries and bookstores are already charging customers for renting or buying their products. Subsequently, journals have also introduced a form of online subscription where you have to pay an annual fee in order to be able to view and read their different columns. For example, the popular newspaper The Guardian is now charging anyone who is interested in accessing the content an annual fee of $20. Thus, these phenomena illustrate that although the presented formats of these items are changing, they are not going to be free. To sum up, even if printed texts do pass the tests of time and remain with us; it is clear that the paradigm shift of the information era is in favour of online and electronic content. Many people are using their tablets or e-book readers due to their convenience and this trend will only increase in the future. However, businesses have found ways to stay afloat and make money, as they have already made sure that the result of their endeavours does not go to waste by being free of charge. As far as I'm concerned, I believe that the future will definitely be bright, and it will be mainly due to the high brightness of screens. Alas, nothing in this world has ever been free and ever will be. You will pay for everything, one way or another.