Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and give your own opinion

Computers have been playing an increasingly significant role in the education system. Although it is thought by some that the use of computers is beneficial, others believe that it can be detrimental. In my opinion, I contend that using computers would positively impact people in various aspects. On the one hand, it is often believed that computers enhance learning opportunities for children and I agree. This is contributed to the unlimited and free resources provided via the Internet, making it easier for students to assess necessary information. Medical students, for instance, could soak themselves with profound knowledge by reading research published on the internet and the process of finding those sites can be efficiently done using computers. Moreover, unlike old traditional learning tools such as textbooks, computers ensure learners with visual learning media, aiding them to gain a better understanding of their lessons. Consequently, using computers improves pupils’ academic performances and that could be the first step towards a successful life. Nevertheless, some individuals think that usage of this technology would take a serious toll on its user. Firstly, the use of computers can lead to several health issues. For example, recent research has shown a rise in the prevalence of visual disturbances and deterioration of eyesight among younger students, who are excessively exposed to electronic screens, compared to previous generations. Another point to consider is the dependency on such devices. It means that when computers are used frequently, children become used to programs such as autocorrection. This could, in the long run, impact their critical-thinking development adversely. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that students stand a better chance to succeed both in school and in the future with the help of computers during their academic years.