Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public transport service is a cardinal facility for the populace of a country. People only resort to private transportation when the conditions of public transport are poor or in cases where affording a private car seems more reasonable. Many people believe that if a major amount from the national exchequer is invested in better public transport and lower ticket prices then transport pollution will decrease to a great extent. I agree with the aforementioned statement. With the increasing population, the number of vehicle users are also increasing. The usage of any fuel-run vehicle contributes greatly to environmental pollution. Nature bears the brunt of this cumulative impurity. Public transport can be a panacea to this problem. Trains can carry 50 times the passengers compared to cars which drastically reduces the number of cars in use. As a result, the pollution rate also declines. Additionally, this also reduces traffic to a great extent. In the case of remote locations where it is inconvenient for rail tracks to be placed buses can act as the saviour. Nonetheless, the government has to take the initiative to launch electric transport in order to observe dramatic changes in pollution levels. Moreover, to encourage the citizen to use public transport, tickets should be sold at a lower cost. The government needs to allure the people with the concept of saving money. If we dig deep into the psychology of an individual, they will always choose a product that is better than the other in terms of quality and also which is economically beneficial for them. By doing so they will passively play an active role in saving the environment. In conclusion, allocating funds for the development of public transport and reducing the cost of tickets is a great way to diminish the rising pollution issues.