Some people think it is better for children to grow up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

People hold distinctive opinions regarding a debate which is linked to whether a child needs to be raised in a city or in the countryside. Both of these options have merits and demerits, which I will elaborate on in this essay. The primary advantage of living in urban areas is that children have a chance to be aware of their abilities. There are many facilities in cities such as art, music, sports, technology and so on. In light of this reality, children living in cities can try these facilities and choose what to do. For example, thanks to it children may choose an occupation that is related to these facilities. However, the biggest drawback of urban life is pollution and its long-term impact on the health of youngsters. That is to say, unfortunately, there is a growing number of asthma cases in children living in metropolitan cities. On the other hand, the main benefit of living in the countryside is that families have a chance to allocate enough time for their children. Furthermore, children have a harmonious family life and they get on well with their peers. Due to this reason, when they grow up, they have healthy relationships in many areas like business. However, rural areas in general, do not have a university, which limits the student’s learning and development. They have to move to the cities if they want to pursue higher education or take professional courses such as medicine or engineering. To conclude, children growing up in cities or the countryside have their own advantages and disadvantages. While cities can provide a superior living standard, it comes with a cost of health degradation. On the other hand, rural life provides children with healthy family ties, however, higher education is not possible there.