Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

rime is a serious and growing problem worldwide. While some argue that increasing police on the roads is primarily the only effective method to reduce crime, I partially agree with this notion since there are many other effective methods to ensure low crime rates. This essay will further explain my point of view in detail. Fear of law enforcement forces undoubtedly acts as a deterrent to anyone thinking of committing a crime. It is frequently observed in cantonment areas, where high surveillance by the police results in a significantly reduced crime rate. A recent study has shown that residential areas allocated to police officers are encountered with fewer crimes. This is also exemplified by the compliance with traffic rules such as speed limit, owing to the presence of police on the streets. However, I think there are several other alternate measures to create a society with a negligible crime rate. Firstly, imposing lengthy prison sentences on offenders can drastically undermine the morale of any potential criminals. In other words, people would think twice before engaging in criminal activities since nobody would prefer to live a substantial part of their lives in a confined cell block away from their families. In addition, strict punishments should be given to individuals convicted of minor crimes such as theft. For instance, in Saudia Arabia where a thief's hands are amputated as a form of punishment, the number of thefts has significantly reduced. Furthermore, the government should implement funding programmes for people living below the poverty line, as a considerable portion of crimes are committed by people from low socio-economic backgrounds. These individuals driven by their low quality of life, often resort to heinous crimes to earn income and support their families. However, when provided support by the government, they will no longer feel compelled to seek income from illegal means. A recent research study has shown that the crime rate significantly reduced in some villages of Pakistan where the Benazir income support programme was introduced by the local government. This programme ensured a monthly income for poor people. In conclusion, while crime rates are currently at their peak, by imposing strict punishments, providing support to those in need, and maintaining a strong police presence, societies can strive towards reducing crime rates and safer communities.