In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Nowadays, in many countries, there has been an increasing thought that investing in new railway lines for high-speed trains is important. However, there are some people who claim that it is better to spend money on the current public transport. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the first notion has more positive impacts than negatives around the globe. To commence with, there are several arguments in favour of my belief. The most prominent is that having new railway tracks with modern trains will reduce the time spent travelling to other cities, allow citizens more productive time, and have less congestion on the roads. For example, according to a recent survey done by Oxford University, almost 68% of people in India would benefit from the above-mentioned notion, whereas 30% of people would face disadvantages. Hence, it is apparent why many citizens are in favour of the above stance. By contrast, it will cost less to improve the existing public vehicles. This improvement with the present system will not require a massive cost compared with the new railways. For instance, new buses will bring more comfort to commuters, nevertheless, time will not be reduced to travel. In addition, the recent academic research carried out by the Chilean government, 60% of citizens disagree with the new proposed government reforms to enhance existing municipal public carriage. Consequently, the example provided is strong evidence that upgrading communal transportation would not be faster than modern trains. In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, it is clear that populations will have more benefits if the countries provide much faster trains than improve the existing system of transport. Nonetheless, the cost of the changes will depend on the countries’ budgets and needs.