It is now possible to order almost any item over the Internet and have it delivered to one’s home. As a result, people are no longer patient or careful in their shopping habits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With technological advances, it has become easier these days to shop with a click of a button. Consequently, the number of worldwide buyers has increased drastically to around 3 million active shoppers daily. This phenomenon has drastically influenced everybody's shopping conduct. I strongly believe that the Internet has resulted in a huge change in people's shopping habits. However, this change is not only contributed to technology, but also to some other internal factors like mental and psychological disorders. To start with, it is true that online shopping has become very convenient and made people's shopping experiences amazing. As a matter of fact, it has become very difficult for a person to control one's self when browsing the web and looking at millions of online products. To illustrate this, some online companies now do offer free international shipping when a person spends a minimum of $ 70. Such an advantage makes anyone want to buy and benefit from this deal. Others would offer exclusive sales that are up to 80%,, especially on Black Friday. Consequently, each person will rush in order to get their orders before it is out of stock. Thus, it is undeniable that the Internet makes everyone become an impulsive buyer. Some other internal factors can also contribute to a change in people's shopping habits due to mental and psychological disorders, namely depression. People who suffer from depression will resort to buying regardless of whether they need what they bought or not. This is a way of comfort and detachment from reality. A clinical study,conducted by the World Health Organization in 2021, has concluded that during Covid 19 lockdowns the number of online clients has increased by 8-fold reaching a total number of 30 million daily users worldwide. The study has indeed stated that 10% of the consumers suffered from different kinds of psychological and mental disorders, such as anxiety, panic attacks and depression, which deeply affected their online shopping behaviour. To conclude, this can negatively affect each one's shopping conduct in spite of its convenience. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that there are other factors that can as well contribute to the way we shop.