In future, robots may do more of the work that is done by humans today. Would the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that in the near future machines will take over and will replace people in many different industries. As of today, robot manufacturing is witnessing a major shift, resulting in 2 million units annually. Whilst acknowledging that these technological inventions will bring a lot of benefits, their drawbacks outweigh their benefits. This essay will examine some merits, but will also discuss some of the downsides. To start with, robots will replace the workforce in numerous different industries. This major shift will provide businesses with a lot of merits. Scaling-up production and automation is the main feature of this new business modal. To illustrate this, many factories in China started deploying robots and have seen their businesses boom in a short period of time. They claim that they used to produce 1500 units every day. However, their production scaled up to reach a total of 5000 units daily. In 2021, Germany was the first European country to use them in some restaurants. According to the Workforce Association Committee in Berlin, such inventions contributed to salary savings among employers as they no longer have to employ personnel. Consequently, the annual turnover of the food industry increased by 25%. Nevertheless, it is undoubtful that replacing humans with machines has severe repercussions on society as a whole. As a matter of fact, joblessness will increase and therefore jobless people will be put on a social welfare scheme. So, this will be another burden on governments. To add more, they are incapable of processing complex jobs, such as cooks, doctors and attorneys due to the fact that they lack emotions and human interactions. A recent study conducted in the USA on Starbucks Cafes has stated that 80% of the customers were not pleased when served by them. They preferred authentic facial interactions to a digital smile. To conclude, it is undeniable that introducing machines in different industrial fields is very advantageous. However, this should not interfere with an individual's living and economic situation. Robots can be very beneficial in some fields but they can never replace a real-life conversation or interaction.