Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

These days, many countries witness a large number of lawbreakers who continue to commit crimes again after previous punishments. The main reasons are that criminals are not given appropriate schooling and fair human behaviour. And two measures that can be taken to tackle this problem are supporting them to learn new skills and welcoming them to various volunteer work in the community. To begin with, there are 2 potential factors for this situation. Firstly, most governments do not provide criminals with suitable re-education programmes after being punished by law. Offenders who are not well-educated do not understand what is right or wrong to behave in society. Secondly, they also have to face discrimination in the society. Since family members turn their back on them and obviously no one wants to be friends with them or even hire them to work. Businesses are more likely to employ people with good qualifications as they claim that criminals are unreliable and can not bring them any benefits. Regarding the measures to tackle this problem, we do have many to mention. On the one hand, governments should open more schools for convicts to attend. It is not only giving them suitable knowledge to raise social awareness but also assisting them to learn some new abilities such as sewing, repairing vehicles or cooking. On the other hand, people ought to be more tolerant. We can run different volunteering activities like cleaning the environment as well as taking care of the elderly to encourage them to participate. Moreover, they will be able to help others who have just finished their punishment in prison. In conclusion, the lack of opportunities and prejudice are some of the main causes. However, I do believe that letting them receive better re-education and an equal attitude will take them away from further crime commitments.