In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are even used by many food and drink companies. Do you think advantages outweighs the disadvantages?

The earth suffers from various problems out of which issues with the utilisation and disposal of plastic waste are the most alarming. These days, using plastic containers for the storage of edibles has gained significant popularity in the food and beverage companies in several Nations. I believe the demerits of plastic are definitely greater than the merits. Beyond doubt, plastic being a non-biodegradable substance causes a maximum environmental hazard. This is because it floats on water and does not allow atmospheric oxygen to dissolve into the water. Thus, starving aquatic life of oxygen. For example, fish from several ponds and rivers have died due to the logging of plastic. Besides this stray animals eat the leftover food from the plastic bags which might get choked in their throat. As a result of this numerous stray dogs and cats in India lose their lives. Hence, plastic not only damages marine life but also terrestrial life. Further, burning these plastic containers in the open contributes to air pollution. This is one of the major reasons for the degrading air quality index in major cities like Delhi and Bangalore. On the other hand, a host of people argue had plastic is both cheap and readily available and therefore well-liked by developing countries. For instance, most South Asian countries are using huge amounts of plastic in various everyday processes. Apart from this, plastic containers keep food and drink away from moisture as well as humidity. Thus, safeguarding them from getting brittle and soft. For example, cookies are often placed in airtight plastic boxes to preserve them from moisture. To conclude, we can say that despite the easy availability and low cost of plastic its production and consumption should be decreased to protect the ecosystem and wildlife. Therefore, the advantages of plastic can never outweigh the disadvantages.