It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that instead of private vehicles or public transport, bicycle should be the unique available moving way in city centres. I completely disagree with this statement because the use of bicycles has its limitation and it may deteriorate people’s quality of life as well. There are too many unavoidable restrictions of using bicycles such as extreme weather and poor physical condition of individuals. For example, for those who live in Canada, it is impossible to force them to commute by cycle during the winter where the temperature may be lower than -20°C. Similarly, since taking bicycle relies on people’s body condition, if such suggestion was adopted, it would impede handicapped persons from job market and result in the physical discrimination during the selection phase. Limiting the way of transportation only in bike also hinders people from pursing better life. Private cars or public transport like bus and metro allow those who cannot afford the house price in urban to live in suburban district while they still can access easily to their workplace or public services after a quick shuttle. For instance, many graduates tend to live in the periphery of Paris because they can obtain as many job opportunities as those live Change the form of the verb living show examples in the center while they only need to pay half for their daily life. On the contrary, if bicycle was the only traffic choice, they could either sacrifice their life convenience to exchange an affordable living in suburbs or they have to transfer to middle of city but endure higher financial pressure. No matter what choice they make, their living level would reduce. In conclusion, as well as bicycles, it is necessary to let vehicle or bus be used in city centres because the using conditions of bike are quite limited, and without the support from other transportation, people’s living standard would decline.