Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome culture differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Travelling and experiencing new cultures is a luxury. There is an ongoing debate on whether visitors should respect and follow local customs and behaviours or whether the hosting country should welcome foreigners and their cultural differences. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion as to why I agree with both statements. Firstly, certain counties work hard at preserving their heritage. Visitors disrespecting this would cause outrage, For example, disrupting natural habitats with items that cause harm like setting up fires or leaving plastic waste results in the peace of the area being ruined. This is also true for local interactions as not keeping noise down or not speaking in a respectful way will upset communities so much that they no longer allow visitors. On the other hand, not all visiting people will all be educated in the customs of local residents. Because of this, the public in the host country should provide education so that visitors can have an authentic experience and gain wisdom. This will allow positive feedback, so more travellers would want to visit. Members of the public might also never get the chance to travel so an exchange of cultures would allow them to enrichen their minds. For instance, when I travelled to Somalia I learned a lot about Somali customs and I also was able to inform them about English culture. We all learnt something new leaving us all satisfied. To sum up, I agree with both points as respect and education can be balanced where both parties are happy.