The best way to solve the worlds environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Global warming and climate change are two major issues that our world is facing today. One of the most effective ways to address this problem is by increasing fuel prices. I strongly agree with the above statement. However, I also consider that resorting to other alternatives, is key to saving the environment. This essay will examine how rising oil prices can be a potential solution and will discuss a few suggestions as well. One of the most considerable ways to tackle environment-related problems is by imposing a hefty price on fossil fuels. Once this law is passed and endorsed by governments worldwide, it will negatively affect people's financial situations. Consequently, it will also contribute to less Co2 emissions in the atmosphere. For instance, people will minimize their trips to groceries to a maximum and will also resort to online shopping instead. Some others will shift to eco-friendly modes of transport namely e-bikes. Thus, it is undeniable that such a rise can definitely tackle to some extent some environmental issues. Some other practical solutions to protect nature and lessen the threats are resorting to renewable resources, instead of our dependence on non-renewable resources, and reducing our carbon footprint. In fact, shifting to solar power, hydropower, wind power and biomass can significantly reduce the emission of toxins in the air, which in turn can decrease the earth's temperature. For example, The American Environment Agency (AEA) estimated that solar power produces lifetime Co2 emissions of 40 g equivalent per kilowatt-hour compared to emissions of 2.23 lb equivalent kwh when using coal as a source. Furthermore, Klaus Shwab the World Economic Forum- (WEF) CEO urged Davos participants to set a net-zero carbon target by 2050 by reducing everyone's Co2 footprint. In conclusion, rising prices on fuel can be a tangible means to alleviate these menaces on the environment. Nevertheless, there should be other measures taken, such as using more options and reducing Co2 footprints.