Studies show that many criminals do not receive enough education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate them rather than punish them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, serious crimes rising in our society is a serious issue. The criminal rates are increasing in its fastest speed ever. Based on the studies, it is controversial that the best way to prevent crime is to provide educations than just punishment. Personally, I believe in the idea that people can change by education. On the one hand, education is a crucial factor that affects people both physically and psychologically. People who received education from their childhood are significantly different from those who didn't received any education. Educations starts from admitting that I am different from others. Our point of view can change by accepting this single fact. Even criminals are unforgivable, we can provide them at least a chance to realize that they are different from ordinary people. On the other hand, there are some cases criminals repeat the same crime again after the education or punishment. Some people who disagree providing education is focusing on this cases. Even we provide a chance for them, crime rates are never reduced. However, to change something in a positive way, we should focus on the good parts rather than focusing on the bad parts. In conclusion, to decrease the growing criminal rate, it is important to utilize the power of education. According to Bendam, the philosopher, sometimes soft way is stronger than simple punishments.