Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Is this a positive or a negative step?

In the past, whenever an individual was sick, he/she would visit a doctor for a checkup. Recently, some citizens want to replace that traditional way with a self-care solution and they prefer to utilize medicines instead of meeting an educated person. While doing this may benefit them financially, I strongly believe that this is a negative step, which can lead to many problems. Obviously, people have limited knowledge about illness and how to face health issues. Therefore if they blindly cure themselves it could cause many unavoidable consequences. Firstly, this can increase the amount of pain they already have. Sadly, many companies produce fake and unhealthy items, which if people buy without knowing the side effects could result the sickness becoming even worse. For instance, sometimes there are heart-related tablets used by patients who also have hair loss. As a result of that those who took those medicines would lose all their hair. Furthermore, a huge number of the population die annually because of consuming a couple of pills which were not suitable for their specific problem. So, ignoring professional help and relying on our limited brain can affect our health negatively. In addition, this replacement can also change the structure of society considerably. Although patients would have to pay less if they choose a self-care method rather than asking for professional help, this causes many doctors to become jobless. Hospitals are working and paying their staff until there are patients. So, when no one wants to enter a healthcare organization, those buildings have to close because they do not earn money. Following this the doctors who went through many struggles and studied for a long time to give service to humans will have no possibility to stay in hospitals and work. Thus, one of the most important sectors of the country will stop giving aid. Moreover, society will lack academically well-prepared pupils. That is why skipping visiting doctors in order to heal our illness might modify a country as whole and be harmful for citizens. In conclusion, while there are many individuals who are convinced that with no doctor a country can function well, I think that this has many disadvantages such as increasing the number of diseases and making doctors jobless. Hence, this is a negative step.