It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is of paramount importance for children to differentiate between what is right and wrong.Some hold the view that using punishment is recommended to do so. Personally, I somewhat agree with this statement but types of punishment must be carefully selected. This essay shall present my opinion coupled with compelling reasons. To begin with, the formation of a person’s characteristics is mainly based on what he learnt during his childhood as it is widely known that the human brain grows most during this time. Therefore, teaching children about moral values at an early age can help shape their personality in an appropriate way. However, not every child is obedient and easily taught, so using punishment and discipline is compulsory in certain circumstances.The fear of being punished will remind children not to repeat their mistakes.When children learn the distinction between right and wrong, they understand the repercussions and are more likely to cease doing so in the future. Regarding the second question, as mentioned in the above paragraph, the application of punishment is considerably crucial, especially when youngsters neglect their guardians’ teachings. Nevertheless, whatever kinds of punishment are, they are not necessarily associated with abusing or beating. The most plausible way to educate children is temporarily depriving their privileges, such as taking away their money pocket or banning them from using the Internet for a day. Such mild penalties would allow children to understand the consequences of their actions without leaving detrimental effects on the child’s development. In conclusion, teaching children moral values at the very first stage of their life is absolutely significant for every child’s holistic development since it helps children to comprehend what is right and wrong and not to commit wrongdoings.Punishments can be used to do so but they should be chosen properly in order not to damage the child physically or mentally.