Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past few decades, there has been an increase in the number of people questioning whether funding space exploration is a futile idea, this is because those who fiercely oppose this view, myself included, believe that this money shall be spent on more useful government services, such as healthcare. To begin with, there is an argument to be made that sponsoring universe expenditures is a very expensive project lacking public benefit. Although scientists believe that extraterrestrial findings may enable humankind to better understand life on Earth, the public rejects this point as it fails to correlate with what is truly and objectively important for the community. To illustrate this point, Germany invested largely in a marine project aiming to discover new sea life in the English Channel. Despite the outcome's positive results, the sea biology community is who benefited the most. With that being said, it is undoubtedly unreasonable for state authorities to prioritize this over investments in healthcare. In addition, the need for a better healthcare system is of dire importance worldwide. Healthcare science investments not only support those in medical research but most accurately focus on improving people's lives. To exemplify this point, cancer clinical trials have offered terminally ill patients a chance for new treatments, which may potentially cure or at least prolong their life. Furthermore, such publicly-funded objectives create career opportunities for fresh science graduates who usually struggle to secure a job post-graduation. With this in mind, it is clearly evident that If governments reiterate their visions to Earthly matters, this will be of utmost benefit to all. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, the overwhelming evidence suggests that exploring the unknown comes with a great cost and favours a specific part of the population. In my humble opinion, developing the current medical field further is worth more than space expeditions.