As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The internet is by far the most used source for information and almost everything in the world. It is no doubt that newspapers are gradually going extinct, I totally agree that they may disappear in the next century. This is a result of how convenient and accessible news has become through the internet and also how cumbersome newspapers can be. The web is fast growing of late, and getting news has become so easy unlike decades ago when you can only get information around the world only on television news programs such as Al Jazeera and BBC News or spend some minutes of your time reading newspapers that you use the money to purchase. Lately, news travel faster because of social media and it is easier and cheaper to access. Personally, I get most of what's trending on Earth on Twitter, a wide-growing platform where people from all over the world share facts and thoughts. Due to this, people tend to sort for information on the internet rather than the printed version of news which has to be bought and even becomes a waste after reading. Consequently, newspapers will vanish because of how inconvenient they can be compared to the web. It is true that newspapers are vanishing from sight because of how burdensome they can be, what do I mean by this? Before one can access news, they have to spend money and go out to buy papers at a newsstand. First of all, the newspaper stand might be miles away from you so you will probably drive or walk before you can get it which I believe will be much of a chore for some people. Alternatively, they will go on the internet which in the long run cause reduction in the usage of newspapers. For instance, instead of using the money to purchase newspapers one will rather buy data and use it to watch the news on YouTube. This clearly shows that newspapers will be lost in sight. To summarize, newspapers will become a thing of the past and I strongly agree as it is not as easy and accessible as the internet. We should then ensure that the news online is accurate and credible.