In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In some parts of the world, people living in regional areas are migrating to metropolitan areas and as a result the number of inhabitants in the countryside is shrinking. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both advantages and disadvantages. There are several reasons why depopulation in villages is beneficial. Firstly, it offers a healthier environment. When individuals move from rural areas to urban areas, there will not be a high concentration of vehicles and industries releasing pollutants into the atmosphere. A falling population, therefore, can alleviate greenhouse gas emissions and is environmentally friendlier to local people, helping them to avoid respiratory diseases in the long run. Secondly, a population decline in isolated areas can improve mental health since it reduces noise pollution. While it tends to be rowdy living in big cities with peak-time traffic clogging the roads and automobiles horns playing unwanted due to the density of the population, the countryside offers green spaces with fewer human disruptions. As a result, residents can take in their serene surroundings, and free their minds from the urgencies of everyday life. However, this situation also results in some drawbacks. To begin with, a falling population in remote areas affects the emotional and social well-being of those who remain. Many people living in small communities have lost at least one friend or family member to out-migration. This disrupts social bonds and decreases the level of support that people often receive from those closest to them. Moreover, this trend can lead to an ageing population. It can be explained by the fact that people opting to leave are usually young adults and those who stay will be elderly people. They will put a heavy burden on the healthcare system because they are more susceptible to chronic diseases, such as aggravated asthma and chronic obstructive disease, that require special medical treatments to be effectively treated. In conclusion, depopulation in distant areas is eco-friendly and develops a positive mentality for people living there. Nevertheless, this trend causes homesickness and population ageing.