Do you think that technological advancement has brought more harm than good? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, advances in technology have brought significant benefits to mankind. However, they also pose negative impacts to them. Personally, I absolutely agree with this viewpoint, which will be further discussed in the following essay. On the one hand, technological advancements have played a huge role in changing the way we communicate for the better. To be specific, thanks to the invention of the Internet and social platforms, people can now stay updated with current affairs and their loved one’s events faster than ever before. In addition, they can even see each other more regularly through chatting and video calling, just with a press of a button. Secondly, technology has paved the way for automation, which has greatly reduced labour work and improved productivity. To illustrate, centuries ago, most goods were made by hand, which may require labour force and time, nowadays many manufacturers have taken advantage of automatic machines to mass produce products with consistent quality and in a relatively short time. As a result, not only has the workload can be done faster and more effectively, but the quality of life has also been improved. On the other hand, there are also drawbacks of technological advances worth mentioning. The first and most obvious is the decline in job demands. Indeed, with so many tasks that can be computerized these days, companies no longer need human programmers to do the work, which results in thousands of people being fired in order to cut down the cost. What is more, the advancements of artificial intelligence also replace jobs that previously only humans can do such as writing advertisements and designing graphics. Of equal severity, the lack of face-to-face communication is also one of technology's negative impacts. Having seen each other on social apps already, people become more hesitant to meet physically. Some teenagers even want to have virtual friends more than mix with their real-life ones. In the long run, this can lead to a serious decrease in social interactions as well as communication skills as well as characteristics such as empathy and mindfulness. As a consequence, people will end up being emotionless and lacking genuine relationships, which can be extremely harmful to the well-being of human society. In conclusion, while it is true that technological advances have brought numerous benefits to human lives, I also agree that the consequences along with them are considerable.