Nowadays, people in most countries decide to have a children later in life. Why do they do so? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Establishing a family through having babies has long been a topic of numerous debates, especially in recent decades. In this regard, many people, particularly in contemporary societies, claim that it would be an appropriate decision to have children later in life. In my opinion, this trend seems quite comprehensive for many reasons and its pros outweigh the drawbacks noticeably. In the following essay, I will support this point of view with likely explanations and practical examples. To begin with, it is widely accepted that as a result of financial strains on newly married couples, the decision of having and raising a child right after marriage is a risky challenge. This is because not only it requires a consistent relationship but also the standard level of well-being in conjunction with a stable financial condition seems to be necessary these days. Therefore, both wife and husband should pursue their occupational goals in order to afford the expenses of pre-requirements such as a house and basic facilities. For instance, the latest statistics in Iran have demonstrated that a high proportion of couples, 60% to be exact, mentioned that the main reason for their no-children life has its roots in the lack of proper job conditions and the staggering prices in the property market. Consequently, having offspring is going to become an unachievable dream in many underdeveloped countries. On the other hand, postponing the time to have kids has its own negative aspects in matrimonial life. The most fundamental drawback of such a joint decision could be that there is a strong chance that the married couple suffers from a lack of structure in their daily activities. This means that they would be deprived of familial perspectives which is a crucial part of developing relationships in both financial and emotional manners. Accordingly, couples may fall into a sedentary lifestyle because of a shortage of familial responsibilities. Apart from that, recent medical researches relieve that pregnancy at elderly age could bring physical problems as well as mental disorders. In the UK, for example, studies have proven that 25% of women who had decided to become pregnant after the age of 35 are infected with major diseases like diabetes and blood pressure. In conclusion, Although having a baby can be determined as an important joint decision requiring considering different aspects, in spite of potential risks, it is clear that the idea of delaying having babies until setting up a stable level of economic situation is more reasonable due to the fact that advances in technology, such as IVF, help older women become pregnant.