With the recent development in technology like e-books, some people feel that the printed media like books, newspapers and magazine will soon be a thing of the past. What is your opinion?

With the current advancements in technology like e-books, some people believe that conventional media such as books, newspapers and magazines will be soon out of date. I would argue that although technology is becoming more and more popular, printed media still appears to be useful in the modern world. One of the advantages of using printed media is that it produces less stress on the eyes of the readers. While reading an e-book for a long time could make our eyes tired, paper materials affect the reader's sight lesser. This is because most of the technology products contain blue lights which cause a bad effect on the eyes and could lead to near-sighted after long hours of use. According to research currently conducted by a university in London, nearly 30% of people have to wear glasses at a very young age due to the overusing of technology such as computers or smartphones to read e-books and study materials. Another reason why there are always a certain number of people preferring to use printed media is that it's easier to keep track of where they are reading. By holding a book or newspaper in their hands, people find it more comfortable and convenient to follow their reading trace by running their finger along the line. However, it's impossible to do the same with a smartphone because it's very small and sensitive which would be likely to suddenly be turned to another site because we hit the wrong button and this could appear to be extremely annoying. In 2018 in the USA, an interview was carried out on this matter and nearly 46% of people admit that if they are allowed to choose, they would come to the printed media for a similar reason. In conclusion, despite the recent development in the field of technology like e-books, there are still individuals who would prefer to use traditional reading materials in virtue of their friendliness to the readers' eyes and their being easier to keep track of people's reading pace.