In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development

It is very commonplace in a number of countries where the citizens migrate from the countryside to the urban areas hence reducing the populations in rural areas. Due to these movements, both the cities and the villages are suffering a lot, hence I consider this as a negative development. To begin with, as the demographics increase in the towns, the areas become overcrowded and a lot of anti-social activities take place. Since the metros cannot provide habitats for the added people, they gather in the slums. Every year a number of families move from villages to the capital city of Bangladesh and start living in various poor areas, for example. Moreover, the government fails to provide jobs to these slum-dwellers hence the unemployment rate goes high. Another problem is that, jobless people often are responsible for committing crimes in the community. On the other hand, the villages also suffer severely as the workforce left their native land. This departure creates a huge vacuum and demands more people in different sectors like agriculture, education, and other industries. For instance, in the harvesting time especially during the rainy season, since people came to towns, the villages do not get enough workers to take the crops home in Bangladesh. The final point is that the students do not get a quality education if the educated people leave the teaching institutions. In conclusion, since this migration process breaks the balancing factors between metropolitan areas and rural areas, this must be considered as a bad development in certain countries.