Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

We live in an era where countries becoming more homogeneous due to the global availability of identical products. In my opinion, this trend brings positive development as it promotes cross-cultural adoption and fulfils customers’ needs better. Firstly, cross-cultural adoption is aided as a result of the widespread availability of similar items. When individuals from different nations have the opportunity to access and integrate traditional items associated with diverse cultures, it serves as a powerful mechanism for breaking down cultural barriers and improving cultural understanding. For example, ranked 34th in a list of 100 most popular dishes in the world by the international food magazine TasteAtlas in 2023, “Pho” - a Vietnamese noodle, has become a culinary ambassador, encouraging people from various cultural backgrounds to explore and embrace Vietnamese cuisine such as using chopsticks. Secondly, the needs of customers would be better satisfied by the availability of similar products worldwide. Thanks to the accessibility of similar goods on a global scale, customers not only have wider choices but also have a chance to buy international authentic products in their homeland. For instance, besides domestic cosmetics, Vietnamese consumers have more choices with international brands, which can easily be bought on e-commerce websites or brand physical stores. This accessibility not only broadens the spectrum of options for consumers but also allows them to experience authentic international products without travelling abroad. In conclusion, the worldwide accessibility of identical items fosters positive changes by facilitating cross-cultural adoption and better meeting customers’ demands with a variety of options.