One problem faced by almost every large developing city is gridlock. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

There is no doubt that traffic congestion is becoming a particularly worrying issue in mega-cities all over the world. Although this scenario has resulted from the increasing number of car users, hope can be found in the form of taxation and encouraging alternative travel. The most notable factor of the increase in car use is the rise in disposable income. This is due to the fact that when cities develop quickly, the economical situation of its citizens improve, hence buying a car as a status symbol to display this newfound wealth. In this environment, it is not difficult to see why roads become congested, resulting in a difficult dilemma for the relevant authorities. Saigon is a relatable example here, where car use has quadrupled in the last five years, thanks to strong economic development, which has put a strain on city roads. A way of tackling the issue of congestion is to impose tax on personal car use, whilst simultaneously promoting an inner- city bike scheme. This would work by collecting taxes through a city car permit for the former and collaborating with businesses, to offer benefits for push-bike users for the latter. As a result of these actions, the authorities should see a reduction in non-essential travel within the city limits. Another benefit is that this will help raise capital for public metro systems, as well as, improving the air quality of the city. Therefore, jammed roads is the outcome of increased car usage by new car owners. However, action can be taken in the form of implementing car permits and a push-bike scheme, to alleviate the aforementioned issue.