Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the use of computers by individuals at an early age when they would be using them for extended periods of time. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this topic. To begin, there is an argument to be made that technology is the way of the future. This is made evident as most jobs require the usage of a computer for data input through Excel sheets, word documents and further research. For example, when a patient comes to see a doctor, most of their past medical records are now computer-based. Children being exposed to a computer from an early age, gives them knowledge and experience when using technological machinery moving forward. This will greatly improve their performance in their future jobs which will prove invaluable towards their career. One possible drawback despite the benefits of utilising technology, is the being inside a household during their youth. To exemplify this, studies have shown that when a child spends more than 50% of their day behind a desktop screen, they become accustomed to this behaviour and no longer feel the need to explore traditional methods of entertainment such as going to the playground or being involved in a sport. In doing so, they will limit their interactions with other individuals and in,turn will result in a lack of basic communication and interpersonal skills. A lack of interaction with their peers will cause them to be socially awkward in their life and have difficulty maintaining good relationships. To conclude, the aforementioned discussion while there are some advantages of spending extended periods of time on computers from an early age, there is evidence of the detrimental implications of doing so. One would hope a balance would be achieved moving forward.