Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The purposes of movies have been a topic of debate for decades. Although certain individuals believe that films are merely about entertainment, I would argue that they should include educational lessons. There are several reasons why films have been viewed as only entertaining. First, overpopulation and scarce resources have driven humans to work harder than ever before, making them susceptible to stress and they need something like films to relax and help them forget about work temporarily. In fact, by watching films and being distracted for a moment, people can recover their energy and avoid burnout when they spend too much time in the performance zone. Second, there are numerous films that could attract a large number of viewers without any educational intention. For example, when it comes to horror movies, most viewers only seek thrills in scary scenes and some others merely want to test their tolerance. On the other hand, I believe including education in films will bring a variety of benefits. Since many people report they can easily find themselves in film characters, they would have more objective perspectives in their lives. In fact, watching a film of a rich man growing from extremely poor conditions would motivate and propel individuals to work their best to reach their full potential. In addition, environmental activists could call for action through movies. For instance, a movie depicting the extinction of humans in the next fifty years due to hotter temperatures and extreme weather conditions may help improve environmental awareness among humans, leading to fewer negative impacts on the environment. In conclusion, both views appear reasonable to a certain extent. In my opinion, movie producers should include educational value in order to promote a better society and protect the planet.