Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. Which approach do you think has more advantages? Are there any disadvantages to children having a school uniform?

The contentions regarding school uniforms have become a widespread topic among either students or parents for a couple of years. While some schools tightly require their pupils to wear uniforms, others enforce a more relaxed dress code. Despite, the drawbacks caused by having a strict uniform for each institution, in my perspective, the merits of this approach overwhelmingly outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, specific attire offers numerous advantages, including solving social ranking, creating communal value, and facilitating students' lives. First, for example, when all students are required to dress in the same way, it is true that the rule eliminates social stratification based on clothes and accessories. Besides, it also fosters a sense of belonging and conformity within the school community. Apart from that, such a policy makes pupils' lives easier. For example, they do not have to waste their time deciding what apparel they are going to wear each day since there is only one option left, so they are able to spend this time on other useful activities. On the other hand, it is also essential to acknowledge the negative aftermaths brought by enforcing a stern regulation, for instance, limiting an individual's confidence and self-expression. Compelling pupils to only attire school uniforms potentially hinders their abilities to express their identities and creativities through clothing, which contributes to a deficit in self-esteem. To conclude, in my opinion, an austere school costume policy in schools provides more beneficial situations as it promotes equality, generates shared value and simplifies daily routine. However, the unfavourable consequences triggered by flexible dress codes should not be overlooked as well.