In recent years, television has contributed most to changing people’s quality of life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite that television conducting changes in many aspects of the modern world, I could partially agree with those who claim it as the one which makes the most difference to societies nowadays, due to the incremental influence of other technical devices such as smartphones and computers. It is inevitable that televisions provoke many changes, including replacing the roles of newspapers, and becoming the main sources of updated information due to their efficiency and variety. For example, reporters are able to present videos on TV news to make content more intriguing compared to newspapers which can only display words and photos. On top of that, it also changes how people spent their leisure time after televisions are introduced to the public, since audiences with different interests are able to find the programs they enjoy watching. For instance, many sports fans are in favour of watching games with friends at home instead of attending events in person. On the other hand, I believe there are other technological devices that contribute more to the changes in people's quality of life, such as mobile phones and computers. First of all, users of computers are able to search for information whenever they want which provides resilience in time management compared to televisions which have fixed timetables for each program. Secondly, smartphones are more portable, allowing people to watch footage anywhere they want, which contributes a great influence on the younger generations, fostering many producers to provide content that could be displayed on these devices to ensure better revenue. To summarise, it is true that the invention of television fosters a dramatic change in societies, however, in my perspective, other modern technologies contributed more influence on people's quality of life. Therefore, I could only partially agree with opinions as such.