We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

Undoubtedly, technology is being dominated in today's world, every person is relying on technological gadgets which the most used are computers. In every profession, these are used which welcome both optimistic as well as pessimistic effects. This essay will discuss both viewpoints in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, Computers have increased the standard of living. In the past, individuals used to do work manually which was tough as well as time-consuming, however, these days people are able to work efficiently and effectively. For example, in any organisation keeping the records of attendance, payroll or preparing invoices was complex to do by hand but with computers it is so convenient. Moreover, these are contributing to resolving social problems such as crime, it can be evidently observed that police officers are using these gizmos to detect finger prints, and even data of offenders are already saved with the officers which they use instantly to identify any criminal. On the other hand, too much dependence on computers is not fine. As, it is accountable for unemployment, there are so many jobs which are not present today like drivers, bookkeepers every task is now done electronically which people are losing their jobs. Likewise, automatic cars are operated with computer software and drivers are getting unemployed. Also,these are impacting the health of users and they are encountering various ailments such as weak eyesight, wrong body posture and obesity. A survey was conducted by the world health organisation which revealed that due to computers the expectancy of human life is decreasing. To recapitulate, Although computers have increased the living standard and are helpful in tackling social issues yet they are responsible for affecting the health of individuals and are the reason for less work.