Some believe technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many are of the opinion that technology has complicated our lives and that living without it would make life so much simpler. Although I agree that technology has drawbacks, turning our backs on it would be a huge setback for mankind. To begin with, technology has played a crucial role in changing human communication, lifestyle and work for the better. Firstly, thanks to the invention of the Internet, people can now be updated with current affairs faster than ever. In addition, social apps such as Facebook and Twitter have allowed them to be in touch with their close ones more often with just a press of a button. Secondly, advances in broadcasting have provided numerous forms of entertainment. This greatly benefits individuals as well as improves their quality of life. Finally, the rise of automation has significantly reduced labour work and increased productivity. For example, manual tasks such as calculating or sorting, and memorizing can now be done by cutting-edge computers with high precision and reliability in a relatively short time. Even though technology has made our lives become more complicated and it is a negative trend, there are several measures to help to alleviate the problem. One of the most effective ways is to change individuals’ attitudes toward technology. Indeed, instead of considering it as an indispensable part of our life, people should treat technology as a tool with the sole purpose being to ease their lives. By doing so, they will not become too dependent on it and free their minds. Another possible way is returning to low-tech devices. To be specific, studies have shown that people may be happier and more satisfied if they are given fewer options in life. Hence, by using devices with few quirks and features, it is likely that they may experience a more fulfilling life, as well as appreciate what they have. For example, instead of using smartphones, millions of teenagers in Europe are now buying dial phones, also known as dumb-phones, because these help them to stay away from the dramas on social media, control their lives better, and see the world with more grace In conclusion, while I agree that technology is making our lives more complex, humans will not likely lead a simpler life if we reject it. Instead, we should change our mindsets toward it and try to use low-tech devices rather than chasing after the latest technologies to live healthier and simpler.