In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

There is currently a controversial argument over whether people who are living longer are more beneficial for governments or not. I personally believe that, although there are some drawbacks to this matter, the merits of this fact are more abundant. Some cons and pros of this case will be addressed in this passage. Regarding the advantages, the most substantial one is that elderly people play a substantial role in our lives, in other words, we can benefit from their knowledge effectively. For example, my grandfather always helps me to choose the best way to fulfil my goals. Another significant merit is that the existence of older individuals such as grandparents gives a sense of calmness after working days, we will be able to have a family gathering. This matter assist assists society to have stronger families. As for the disadvantages, overpopulation is a negative contributing factor in society and as a result, the authorities should afford many facilities. For instance, the number of parks, cinemas and restaurants should be increased and this action fact is absolutely money-consuming. Another negative point is that the level of traffic congestion and air pollution will soar. In conclusion, the ageing population is increasingly serious. Although this fact leads to some negative repercussions such as the lack of living amenities, the higher level of air pollution and traffic jam, I personally advocate that the pros of this matter outweigh the negative points, the pros such as the transformation of people’s experience and the sense of motivation after working days. I recommend encouraging the old to immigrate to the countryside to alleviate the following problems.