Many people believe that international tourism has negative implications on their countries. What is the reason for it? What can be done to change the negative attitude towads international tourism?

Many locals unwelcome foreign travellers due to the negative impacts they may bring. This essay will first discuss how stereotype and the work of media are the primary causes of such bias and then outline how positive publicity by governments are the most viable solution. One cause leading to this bad impression of foreign tourists is that people are used to judging these unknowns by social stereotypes. For example, there are some common agreements shared on the internet that Americans are rude and alcoholic, Chinese are noisy and less aware of the environment or even more exaggerated, they consider those black-skin backpackers tend to immigrate illegally. Moreover, the media prefers to focus on this group and report those extreme cases to attract their citizens’ attention. Although, bar fights happen frequently in many different places, if it is provoked by some foreign tourists, such news would spread very fast with a highlighted title, thereby enhancing local’s bad impression towards those international travellers. The best solution to change this prejudice towards those outsiders is to publicize the benefits brought by these foreigners. Many people do not realize that those tourists contribute a lot of profits to their national finance and only pay attention to the negative side. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, many countries like Italy, Spain and Frances were suffering with a drastic drop in financial income due to the loss of international tourism, and report published by governments shows that the tourist industry actually occupies more than 35% of national income every year. If the government share these contributions and other good effects from foreign tourists regularly, there is a high possibility that their people would change their mind. In conclusion, the stereotype towards different nations with media fuelling is the main reason to give locals a bad impression towards those travellers from other countries while positive publicity of benefits that these tourists can make may ameliorate the tension between locals and outsiders.