More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

The rapid increase in the number of private cars travelling on street is a major topic of concern in modern society. This alarming trend poses many threats and must be addressed by a number of definite actions. As private cars are becoming increasingly prevalent, several related problems can be anticipated. Firstly, the overuse of cars might lead to the emission of tons of harmful gases, especially greenhouse gases which acts as one of the main culprits of the ozone layer depletion. Moreover, ozone layer depletion as a consequence of pollution can cause skin problems. For example, in Australia, an increase in car users has attributed to accelerated depletion of ozone layer protecting people's skin from ultraviolet rays. Consequently, this causes a great number of respiratory diseases such as asthma, bronchitis or skin cancer. Secondly, the trend toward abusing private cars could be ascribed to traffic congestion. When a huge number of cars travel on street during rush hours, they would take up a vast space for other vehicles, which causes traffic to become overload. If individuals use some types of light vehicles such as bicycles or motorbikes, they would not have to grapple with the nightmare of the traffic jam. However, measures must be taken by governments and environmental activists to alleviate/cope with the negative impacts of over-reliance on cars. On the one hand, the authorities should impose a higher tax on car importers in order that the price of cars would be increased significantly, which dissuades individuals from owning cars. Additionally, it is necessary for the government to invest money in upgrading the public transportation system as well as step up campaigns to encourage citizens to travel on these public vehicles. On the other hand, the amount of air pollution caused/released by cars can be reduced by installing air filter system in high-density urban areas. For instance, Dutch designers have given a birth to a device named " smog free tower" that can remove almost all the carbon particles from the air. In conclusion, the increase in car owners may result in both environmental problems and traffic congestion. Thus it is vital for policy makers to adopt effective measures to tackle the problem.