Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is controversial whether the increasing similarities among countries are caused by enabling people to buy similar products from anywhere in the world. I consider that this development is more positive than negative. There is no doubt that some detrimental aspects come with the increasing similarities of countries. This trend will undeinably result in the disappearance of some traditional cultures. That's because, people tend to buy the same products due to the globalisation, resulting in the lack of variation between different regions. Thus, local products which have unique characteristics and carry the local culure start to disappear., Consequently the culture itself with a lack of supportive methods will gradually diminish, and without the lack of this united force,, eventually local people will start to lose the sense of belonging and the cultural pride. Specifically, this could happen as local clothes are replaced by the popular and stylish modern clothing, and then the related ceremonies which involve those traditional wearings will then disappear, resulting in the fade away of culture. However, there are a lot of positive effects arise from the fact that countries are becoming similar. To begin with, the living quality arises from this phenomenon. Since it is effortless to buy the same product worldwide, the highly developed production and transportation is essential, then in order to build the supply chain, it is necessary to complete the production and transportation globalisation process. Considering that the additional costs arise from different standards, they will be unified in this process, leading to the unified quality and customers from all over the world will enjoy an equalised service, and eventually resulting in a rise in living quality Moreover, this process also lead to the self-development of those undeveloped countries. Since the people there are able to have access to the products in high quality, it is also very convenient for local scientists to understand the gap between the top-tier and local developments, then it is possible to learn from the existed products and eventually give a boost to local industries. For example, the imported fire plants are highly-efficient and if scholars can analyse them and try to produce reverse-engineered products, it will definitely contribute to their own industries. To conclude, I believe that it is better for countries to become similar in providing products, which help people to buy everything anywhere, and contribute to not only individuals but also to the country itself.