Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a workplace every day. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is quite common these days that more and more people are choosing to work remotely instead of going to their offices every day. It is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could certainly outweigh its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to working at home. A common issue is that some jobs require people to access special equipment and tools therefore it is impossible to do that from home. An example of this is that doctors need to use machines and medical facilities to help them in analyzing and testing. Another negative aspect can be that since employees have less human interaction, it may affect their work satisfaction. For example, a Japanese Economic newspaper stated that 56% of office workers enjoy going to work because they can have conversations and be a part of a community. However, in spite of these negative effects, working at home can bring about important benefits. One obvious advantage is that it costs less time, money and effort. A reason for this is that the companies don’t have to cover the commute fee and employees can have more time since they don’t have to wake up early to prepare to go to work. Another positive effect is that workers’ productivity can be boosted if they can work in their comfortable space. There are numerous researches have shown that people manage their tasks more effectively when they are at home than at work. In conclusion, although it is argued that employees should go to their workplace every day, it seems to me that the potential benefits of remote working are more worthwhile than the possible disadvantages.