Studies suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons? And what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

It is true that children today lean towards reactive activities, like watching television, and away from proactive ones. Given that this trend can lead to a whole host of health issues, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding solutions. There is a number of reasons why young people are increasingly watching television. First, since there are thousands of entertaining shows, movies and music at their disposal, which are conducive to relaxation and instant mental gratification, children are highly engaged most of the time. In fact, most of the objects and motions they see on television are new to them, which tends to trigger their curiosity and evoke their feelings, either positive or negative, conditioning them to watch more. Second, inadequate playgrounds and parks deprive children of outdoor activities. For example, recent housing projects in Hanoi are set to shrink some of the parks, steering children to stay home to watch television more and more. Nevertheless, there is a variety of executable solutions, mostly parental, to reverse this trend. Parents can help refrain their heirs from excessive TV screen time by setting a daily limit. By encouraging their young to adhere to the limit, they will be less reliant on amusing content, especially ones that are addictive. Second, even if playgrounds are shrinking, modern cities usually offer indoor activities and sports, which can offer positive impacts on health and improve overall physical and mental well-being. For instance, municipalities should promote team sports, such as football or basketball, by offering free entrance for the young under a certain age, since they appear highly attractive to most of them. In conclusion, although the trend might be difficult to reverse, there are actions that can be taken to address it. Coordination among city officials and parents can make a big difference in improving any child's lifestyle.