One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified food is a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

The world population has increased exponentially in these years and the problem of food shortages is slowly arising. While some people says that genetically modifying food might be the solution. This essay agrees with the suggestion because it helps with global starvation. Firstly, a genetically modified crops will grow significantly faster than normal crops. Crops that have their genes altered to be harvested quicker than typical crops will be able to meet the consumption rate of that crops solving lack of food. For example, a normal potato plant takes 60 days to be harvestable while a genetically altered potato plant will be ready to harvest in 30 days which is able to provide twice the amount of potatoes compared to non genetically altered potato plant. Secondly, a plant can be genetically modified to be disaster resistance such as drought. There are times where the yield are lowered due to natural disasters causing that food to be on the deficit supply. For instance, spinach was planned to harvest in a month time, however drought hits and most spinach whithered making the yield 80 percent lower than usual. In conclusion, although genetically modified food sounds dangerous and not natural, these are the best way to have enough food flow in the world. Therefore, plants that are designed to resist unforseen disaster and yeild more food is one of the best solution to food shortages.