All over the world people spend more time on sports and exercises these days. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages? Give your opinion with supporting examples from your own experience.

In recent times, people are spending more time doing physical activities to keep themselves healthy. I think it is a healthy development because it's extremely important to keep ourselves fit so that we can enjoy all the other things in our life. I will further explain my viewpoint in the below essay. Firstly, I think engaging ourselves in a lot of physical activity is very beneficial for our physical health because,in the past, people used to work very few hours and exercise more, but now a lot of people are overworking themselves and also with the evolution of computers, people are mostly working in closed environments without any physical activities. Hence, to avoid developing some health conditions like obesity, etc, it is important to get involved in such practices. Moreover, being active and healthy also increases one's life span and helps them avoid several health problems in their lives. That being said, some people spend more hours in the gym and tend to become more concerned about their appearance. This can make them pursue independent lives and ignore personal obligations. Thus, a certain balance is necessary. Other than that, it has a lot of beneficial effects. Some people see these activities as a way of releasing work stress or as a useful hobby. To keep ourselves stress-free from family problems, job tensions etc., we can engage in these kinds of activities. For example, many IT employees have access to many of these facilities and also their lifestyle revolves around partying on weekends and so. Since their work involves fewer physical activities, I think it's a good practice that many people use these facilities now to spend their free time instead of getting involved in partying or so. In conclusion, I think certainly spending more time doing physical activities than needed would be a waste of time, however with the right balance, these might have many advantages. Hence, I think it's a positive change that we spend more time doing physical exercises. Rather than spending time on other activities involving fun or travel, we can certainly spend a good amount of time doing exercises.