Government should spend money on railways more than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

Infrastructure development plays a crucial role in a nation's progress and economic growth. When it comes to the allocation of government funds, a debate arises as to whether more money should be spent on railways or roads. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the government should prioritize spending on railways more than roads. To begin with, one of the major reasons why the construction of railways is essential is their efficiency and sustainability. Railways have the capacity to fit a considerable amount of passengers, therefore it is efficient by reducing traffic congestion and the time taken to accomplish all the work. Moreover, focusing on the enhancement of roads will lead to increased carbon emissions and fuel consumption, which have severe effects on public health and the environment. For instance, countries like Japan and China have made significant investments in railway systems, resulting in them becoming well-organised and favourable regions for living. Furthermore, investing in train systems have tremendous economic and social benefits. Railways are widely used in trades between countries, in the scope of export and import, due to their ability to transport heavy cargo at once. Moreover, this kind of investment would allow to establish tourism and attract more visitors, as well as foreign investors. To illustrate, the modern train system in South Korea escalated local economies by promoting connectivity between cities, and rising tourism rates. To conclude, in my way of thinking, allocating a great proportion of government funding to the railway system would be a wise decision due to the advantages provided in the economic, social and environmental spheres, which will guarantee a vibrant future for the country.