Some people say the professional workers such as, doctors, nurses and teachers, who make greater contribution to the society, should be paid more than those people in the field of sports and entertainment. To what extent do you agree and disagree?.

Being paid what you deserve has been debated by the public as many believe that doctors, nurses and teacher's salaries should be more than that of athletes and entertainers. This essay will discuss the reasons why I agree with the above statement. To begin with, life is priceless, doctors and nurses go through years of education and rigorous examinations to be able to save as many as possible. They also put their patients first risking their own lives just like when the world's under the threat of an infectious disease like covid-19, for example. Covid is an airborne disease that is easily transmittable and so, while the world was under lockdown, these healthcare workers were trying to put a stop to the rising death rates. Teachers, on the other hand, shape the minds of future world-class leaders. The lessons they learnt while at school provide them with the tools to get them where they would be as well as teach them core values that could affect the decisions they impose on nations. Athletes such as footballers and entertainers like actors only provide us with an hour or so of entertainment, nothing of value compared to the other professionals mentioned above.  In conclusion, health and living matter more to most people as they wouldn't be able to enjoy a football match or a movie if they were dead, so because of that, in my opinion, the professionals that are equipt to save lives or teach the young should be paid more than those who give us a moment of brief entertainment