Young people spend too much money on expensive fashion brands and gadgets these days, many of which are not necessary.

Nowadays, young generations spend a high amount of money on high-priced brands and gadgets which are not necessary. This underneath essay, I will present two main reasons why young people spend a lot of money on high-priced brands and gadgets. Young individuals are heavily influenced by ads on social media. To begin with, there are many ads on social media that are available for adults to gain the good things they want. Advertisements provided on social media are all branded goods which could make someone look more attractive. Moreover, these brands displayed in the ads are used by well-known individuals, further encouraging the young to buy these items without considering the price. Also, they could spend a high amount of money to purchase some expensive brands that are provided on social media. Due to this issue, there is an increasing number of consumer debts and another one is impulse buying. The young are in a critical phase in building their identity. First of all, young people are more open to trying different behaviors and appearances to find their identity, or in other words to gain self-concept and self-esteem. Furthermore, the more they gain branded things, the more they gain self-esteem and recognition from surroundings. Therefore, they could spend a lot of time on gadgets looking for a figure to emulate their interesting appearances and famous life-style on net or other media. As a result, young people are easily influenced and developed by peers and they have emotional anxiety such as FOMO (fear of missing out). To wrap up, young generations tend to spend a high amount of money on branded items and gadgets more than other necessities. They did this due to their heavy influence by ads on social networks and critical phases to build their identity.